One with the Stories of the Road

They ask me, “Why do you travel solo? Don’t you get bored.” I do not have one particular reason, for traveling solo, but the one that keeps me going and fuels me to travel more, solo, is the chance to meet people, to hear their stories.

While you travel, especially solo, chances are you will meet similar people on the way. They may or may not be in the same frame of time and mind as you are. Remember, not everyone would share the same story, however, we inherently do share the same, or at least, similar experiences. You can bet on finding some similar souls like yourselves.

In all the stories, I have come across, I’ve realized that we all go through the same grind of life, through a similar crisis. However, the only thing that differentiates YOUR STORY is how you respond in the difficult times, how you fight back in the times of crisis and move forward.

There are stories, then there are the stories. They are so inspiring that they need to be written and be made available to be read by others, as well. Here it goes.

A lover from England

I met an Anthropologist Professor from England, who has been visiting India every SINGLE year, since 2008. As an anthropologist, the complex Indian society and its people fascinate her. It was evident that she is in love with the country as she fondly recounted her past travel experiences. To the extent where she was seriously considering consummating her rendezvous with India permanently and establishing her base here.

Mountain Yogini

A Marketing Professional from Delhi, quit her job to run a homestay and teach Yoga in Kaza, Spiti Valley. She has been trying to provide a slice of Spitian life to the travelers, especially to solo travelers. And that, she does really well. Along with doing what she loves, she chose to live a life that is devoid of the rat’s race and climbing the corporate ladder. When I asked her what made her choose this life living in the Mountains, her answer is simply one word – Life.

Vagabond Entrepreneur

An Engineer with an MS and working as a Strategy Consultant with AmEx in the US, started his BnB Consultancy as he worked nomadically from the mountains, beaches, and even cities! The reason: he did not want to be bounded by the 9 to 5 and needed to do something and work for himself.

The Artist

An aspiring 20-something Spanish artist who works just enough to save travel money came to India and stayed for over 4 weeks learning Yoga, Tattoo Art and exploring Mountains. Having entered her early twenties, she wanted to de-stress and wanted to heal herself physically, mentally and emotionally. And she was drawn to the Himalayas like a traveler to an oasis in the desert.

***

I travel because I get this urge, an innate need to move. And these stories, the individuals I have met along the way, make me want to meet and hear more such life-altering stories. Also, in a true Bollywood-ian way, I am just waiting for my story to begin. Or maybe it already has and I don’t know about it.

What about you, is there anyone or any story that has inspired you and urged you to explore more? Do let me know in the comments below.

Share your thoughts?