Waterfall Rappelling at Dudhiware

I have never had fear of heights. In fact I love to look down from above. So when I got to climb down from a hilltop from height of 150 feet, I just grabbed that chance. And the icing on top was that I would be rappelling through waterfall. Yes. There was water falling from the top and I was controlling my fall through the harness. Let me tell you more about the experience.

The venue was in a base village near Lonavala, called Dudhiware. The distance from Lonavala station (nearest railway station) to Dudhiware would be approximately 7-8 kilometers.There were shared cabs easily available from near Lonavala railway station. The journey to the village took around 30-40 minutes through the cab.

 

The fall on the right side was our destination.
The fall on the right side was our destination.
View from the base village of Dudheware
View from the base village of Dudheware

Our destination was one of the two waterfalls hidden inside this scenic remote village. And the rain which poured almost the whole day made it all the more picturesque.

It was just breathtaking. It was green everywhere like nature had gone to laundry with cascading waterfalls as the backdrop. As we climbed up towards the waterfall it seemed nature has painted with choicest of colors taking care of last details of the clouds that floated low that if I were any near to the top of the hill yonder I could have touched it.

And then I was looking up towards the fall. The descent that I was so looking forward to from past two days.

The Descend!
The Descend!

The scary part of rappelling is not the descend itself, but the wait for descend. I am neither scared of height nor water but its the wait for my turn that made me nervous, until the time I actually started moving down the rope. The anticipation of whether will I be able to do it properly or not was killing me. To while away the waiting time I explored the place. And it was beautiful. Like awesomely beautiful. Have a look at these pictures.

Looking at this… I wished I could paint. Like really paint on canvas using brush and oil paints.
Looking at this… I wished I could paint. Like really paint on canvas using brush and oil paints.
The Another Fall!
The Another Fall!
The mini fall.
The mini fall.
The “Assembly Point” before the rappelling
The “Assembly Point” before the rappelling
And still the wait seemed endless!
And still the wait seemed endless!
The wait was endless!
The wait was endless!
And suddenly it was my turn. The beginning of the descent.
And suddenly it was my turn. The beginning of the descent.

Although I tried my best to put up a brave-face, I was shit scared when the actual descent was about to begin. And then I started walking backwards first. Suddenly I was vertical to the rocky wall and still walking, finding my foothold on the wall and maneuvering myself. And there was this gushing sound of waterfall all around me. The thumping sound it made against my helmet. And the fear that I would lose my spectacles! And worse part, I wasn’t carrying my spare ones.

But tell you all what. It is one thing to not be scared of heights and completely another when you get stuck at some 75 feet height above ground level and you suddenly look down. And the best part comes when you look up and all there’s to see is the water and the rocky wall. And the blue sky above.

The descent would have taken hardly 2 minutes (or wait, it was maybe less but it seemed like ages then. How I wish it could have been!), but when it did end I wished if only I could have done it little slower. That I could have been able to enjoy the view it offered for just a while longer. But all good things does come to an end. It is not the last thing that I am going to do. There are lots of other things that I want to try. And completing this has just made me more determined.

So, yes I had to return back to Pune, leaving those falls and hills and the faraway river. But before I leave you there’s one more thing I want to share:

Apparently these hens and their ‘chicks’ are fond of Poha. And peanuts too! Unfortunately chicks were shy of camera!
Apparently these hens and their ‘chicks’ are fond of Poha. And peanuts too! Unfortunately chicks were shy of camera!

P.S. This blog was long overdue. I had made this trip on 9th of August, 2015, Sunday!

Note: Images used in the post are courtesy of VinitMrunal and Vijay

This blog was originally posted last year on my blog avanilalka.com. Reposting it again with the original content

Share your thoughts?

