A Week in a Professional Life in Mumbai…

What my life as a working professional in Mumbai was… and how it is for most of Mumbaikars.

It was supposed to be a picture story, but bad as I am at timings could never click the right photograph. So I decided to paint those images with words. At least try to do so.

A Mumbaikar’s week starts with preparing their dabba for the work, you would be surprised to see most of the households light switches off at 12am and is up and on around 4.30am, the evidence being the whistle of the pressure cooker that you hear. It makes me think that a life of Mumbaikar sleeps when the local leaves for its last journey of the day and begins with the first journey of the local.

This is Dadar station. Central line. Photo credits: Priyal Lalka
This is Dadar station. Central line. Photo credits: Priyal Lalka

Locals. The very heartbeat of Mumbai. If you haven’t traveled to your workplace by local from Virar/Kalyan or to Churchgate/CST at least for a complete week then you really haven’t said to have worked in Mumbai. I can proudly say that I have truly worked in Mumbai.

The usual work area and the setting of  the professional. Desktop or Laptop with mug filled with tea or coffee. Few like me have their personal mugs on their desk
The usual work area and the setting of the professional. Desktop or Laptop with mug filled with tea or coffee. Few like me have their personal mugs on their desk

The city which is always in the hurry to keep pace with the hands of the clock. The city where people, the Mumbaikars, walk with the timings of local. The professional here work to get the correct clock-in and clock-out to reach home. We sit at our desk waiting for all the possible breaks. And sometimes we do not have the luxury of the breaks so the mug-rim smudges on our desks are the proof of our “busyness”.

Most of us wait like school children watching the clock hand for the recess-time, to complete the mandatory daily work hours. And the rush begins to catch the local and how we wish to be on the “up-side” in the evening. It is this time when we can take out all the frustration of work so as to be “refreshed” when we reach home to be able to go through the cycle of the next day.

Wishful thinking of every commuter traveling in the local 'peak' hours
Wishful thinking of every commuter traveling in the local ‘peak’ hours

And it continues till Friday, 9 pm.

Sometimes I wonder why I put up with the routine that comes of its accord to every professional, working in the metro cities. Then I have the answer. For the two days of the week that I get to see the city.

The Serenity. This place always make me stop and makes the life in Mumbai a bit... calm?
The Serenity. This place always make me stop and makes the life in Mumbai a bit… calm?
Three Syllables: Co-La-Ba. Need i say more?
Three Syllables: Co-La-Ba. Need i say more?

These two days where I can shop my way to Colaba, Hill Road or Linking road. These two days where I can either chose to have Irani chai at some cafe or just have one of those Tibbs Frankie or make my way to Khau Galli. These two days where I can just chose to relax by Bandstand or Marine drive and enjoy the calm, a moment of stillness in this fast-paced city. These two days compensate for the 5 days of toiling of the week…

Share your thoughts?

